Skip to main content

About WDC

The Western Development Commission (WDC) encourages social and economic development in the Western Region, which includes the counties of Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway, and Clare. 

It is required to advise the government on matters that affect the Western Region and to advocate for government initiatives aimed at raising social and economic standards in this area. It oversees the WDC Investment Fund, which offers loans and equity to local communities and businesses in the area. 

Their 2019 ‘Work Smarter, Live Better’ strategy outlines what they do. It outlines the organization’s road map for the subsequent five years. The three pillars of the approach are sustainable enterprise, regional leadership, and regional promotion. 

Find out more about the Western Development Commission

For regular WRAP updates
subscribe to the Ardán Newsletter

  • Home