CALM WITH HORSES Released in Irish & UK Cinemas on Friday 13th March.

Calm With Horses, the feature film debut of director Nick Rowland, based on the short story of Mayo writer Colin Barrett, will be jointly released in Irish and UK cinemas today, Friday 13th March 2020.

The film received its World Premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2019 and featured at the BFI London Film Festival in October 2019 and Busan International Film Festival.

Ex-boxer Douglas ‘Arm’ Armstrong (Cosmo Jarvis; Lady Macbeth, Peaky Blinders) is the faithful and violent right-hand-man to the drug-dealing Devers clan, ready to dole out beatings at the whim of his best friend, and the family’s unpredictable protégé, Dympna (Barry Keoghan; Dunkirk, American Animals), Arm’s struggle to find his place in the world has consequences on his relationship with his ex-girlfriend Ursula (Niamh Algar; The Virtues, The Last Right) as she strives to find a better life for herself and their young son Jack (played by newcomer and Clare actor, Kiljan Moroney). When Arm is asked to kill a man who has crossed the Devers, his loyalties are truly tested and his attempts to do the right thing set off a chaotic chain of events that will affect everyone he holds dear.

Calm With Horses was adapted by Joe Murtagh, directed by Nick Rowland produced by Dan Emmerson, Rory Gilmartin and Kate Glover. The film was shot across Clare, Galway City and Galway County featuring Kilkee, Loughrea, Leenan and many other stunning West of Ireland locations.

Calm With Horses  is a DMC Film, Element Pictures production in association with Altitude Film Entertainment; developed and co-financed by Film4 and Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland with the participation of the WRAP Fund. The production received assistance from the Arts Office of Clare County Council and ScreenWest.


The Western Region Audiovisual Producers Fund (WRAP Fund) is an initiative of the Western Development Commission and Galway Film Centre, in association with the local authorities of Clare, Donegal, Galway City, Galway County, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo and Údarás na Gaeltachta.